Website Maintenance: Saturday, July 31

29/07/2021

We will be performing maintenance to our systems. Access to your OPL account and search functions will be unavailable from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm Saturday, July 31. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Colonel By Day: August 2

29/07/2021

All Ottawa Public Library branches will be closed on Monday, August 2. Virtual services and loans can be accessed on our website. 

Temporary closure: Alta Vista

23/07/2021

Due to upgrades to the front entrance, the Alta Vista branch will be closed from July 26 to August 8. There will be no returns or holds pick-up during that time. Alta Vista branch will reopen August 9 at 10 am.   

Step 3: More services inside most open branches

29/07/2021

Browsing, public computers, newspapers and magazines are available inside most of our 31 open branches, with capacity limits for two-metre distancing. Up to 200 items can also be put on hold.

Starting July 26:

Mask-wearing remains mandatory inside, and outside in line. For more details, go to Current Branch Services.

You are here

Discover new authors and read-alikes via Novelist!

03/09/2020

 

Have you read all the books by your favorite author and are not sure what to read next? Do we have the tool for you! NoveList Plusprovides recommendations, read-alikes, genre based book lists and more! It’s also very user friendly.

On our webpage, visit the online resources section for the link for Novelist Plus.  It will prompt you for your library card number and pin.

Novelist has a search bar at the top of the screen which allows the user to search by keyword, author, title, series or narrator.  This is a quick and easy way to find a readalike! For example, when I type in author Silvia Moreno-Garcia, NoveList provides a mini biography (did you know that she is Mexican-Canadian!) and description of the genres and types of work she creates.  It also provides information on characters, storylines, tone, and writing styles.

NoveList also provides a listing of the author’s works, along with title read -alikes and author read-alike links and recommendations.  If you would prefer to search via specific story elements you enjoyed, if you scroll to the bottom of the page you can conduct a personalized read-alike search based on genre, storyline, location etc.

If you are not sure what you are looking for, and would just like to browse, NoveList provides a browse by drop down menu at the top left of the page, where you can choose to browse by genre, appeal, themes, audiobooks, and award winners. Recommended reading lists are also available on the main page, and contain all sorts of great options, including Canadian fiction, and ‘Always in demand.’ They also provide a quick link drop down menu which contains book club resources, grab and go booklists, books to movies and more.

If you are searching for children’s materials, you can also check out NoveList K-8which specializes in read-alikes for younger readers.

Looking for some more tips and tricks from NoveList? Check out their tutorials below for more information, or check out the handy ‘How do I?’ section of the Novelist website.

 

The OPL team is always happy to answer any questions you may have regarding Novelist and to provide readers’ advisory in person and online!  Also, check us out on select Thursdays during #AskaLibrarianon Twitterfor reading recommendations, book queries, and more!

Mexican Gothicby charmaine_library

These books contain similar themes, genres, tones, and characters as Mexican Gothic! Moreno-Garcia is a Mexican- Canadian who writes horror, speculative fiction, mythological fiction, as well as thrillers and fantasy. Recommendations provided by NoveList Plus!

NoveList 101