Temporary closure: Alta Vista

23/07/2021

Due to upgrades to the front entrance, the Alta Vista branch will be closed from July 26 to August 8. There will be no returns or holds pick-up during that time. Alta Vista branch will reopen August 9 at 10 am.   

You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Online Resources

  • Homepage of Access Video on Demand
    Access Video on Demand is a streaming video platform with a focus on educational films. The collection includes 41,213 videos, 331,668 video segments and 1,094 subject categories. The topics range from Arts and Humanities, Business and Economics, Science, Mathematics and...
  • Homepage of ArtistWorks
    Access to beginner to advanced lessons for instruments, voice and art.
    On May 18, 2021, the ArtistWorks offered by RBDigital have be moved to the Overdrive Libby and Libby app under "Extras".
    You can download Libby app from App Store or Google Play.
    To access, sign into the Libby app, then go to the "Extras" section on the home screen.
    If you want to access Artistworks via your computer,
    click “Continue with Libby >" at the very bottom of the page,
    or you can use the desktop Libby site: https://libbyapp.com/library/ottawa
    The RBdigital platform and app will be retired on May 20, 2021.
  • Homepage of the Creative Bug website, showing a smiling woman next to images of crafting ideas.
    Learn how to paint, knit, sew, and much more. Creativebug offers thousands of award-winning arts & crafts free video classes and workshops. They are all taught by recognized design experts and artists. Categories include Knitting, Crochet, Art & Design, Paper,...
  • Homepage for Curio.ca
    Curio.ca offers access to thousands of commercial-free educational video and audio streams from CBC and Radio-Canada. Categories include Canadian history, health, business, children's programming, Indigenous studies and many others.
    If you would like to create playlists and use other personalized features of Curio.ca, you'll need to create an account by using access code: LWB9-RCBE
  • Homepage for Hoopla
    This digital media service provides customers access to motion picture films, television shows and complete music albums. There are more than 230,000 titles in this collection, which includes current and past hits, as well as classics. There is a variety of genres to choose from, with something for all ages.
    You can stream or temporarily download up to 4 titles per month per card.
  • Homepage for Just for Kids
    Over 8,092 fun and informative video and audio titles featuring Berenstain Bears, Franklin the Turtle, Wild Kratts and many more. Subject areas include arts, music, animals, sports, hobbies, math, science and reading. More than 430 educational interactives are also available.
  • Homepage for Kanopy
    Kanopy offers a large collection of high quality films and documentaries from art-house classics to world cinema, all available to play on your PC, phone, tablet and digital media player. You can stream up to 4 films per month. At...
    You can watch up to 4 films per month per card.
    You can check out 1 series from The Great Courses per month per card with 30 days access
    Unlimited plays for any video in Kanopy Kids.
    Starting on Monday, March 22nd, trailers for Kanopy’s top 100 suppliers’ films will be available. Kanopy will keep adding more trailers to more films throughout the year
    Playing a trailer will not deduct any type of play credit.
  • LinkedIn Learning Banner
    LinkedIn Learning's login issue has been resolved. LinkedIn Learning is working now.
    LinkedIn Learning mobile app is now available
    Please activate/access LinkedIn Learning via the desktop first, then move to the mobile app for an easier sign in experience on mobile.
    Downloaded the free LinkedIn Learning mobile app, click Sign in with your library card, enter “LibraryID” as “ottawa”
    www.linkedin.com/learning-login/go/ottawa
    Click Continue, and from there enter your library card # and PIN.
    A customer will not get a certificate in their name, the customer will see completions in their history but won’t get a copy with their name.
    The library version of LinkedIn Learning can’t connect with customer’s personal LinkedIn account.
  • Medici.tv homepage
    The world's premier resource for classical music videos, it gives you unlimited and simultaneous access to stunning live events streamed every year from the world’s most prestigious venues. Plus, it offers thousands of concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master classes, and...
    You can change the language setting to be English, French, Spanish and Russian
  • Homepage of NFB - Campus
    NFB Campus streams almost 1,500 more films than the free NFB site. (Those 1,500 extra films are only available for streaming in library through OPL NFB Campus subscription; The other 4,500 films are available free from NFB site www.nfb.ca )...
  • Homepage for Naxos Video Library
    Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand. Featuring performances from legendary artists including Placido Domingo, Claudio Abbado, Luciano Pavarotti, Martha Argerich and Herbert von Karajan. Over 2,500 full-length videos.
    This product is limited to 5 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
  • Homepage for Teen Book Cloud
    A collection of Graphic Novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources and audiobooks, perfect for middle school and high school students. It features adjustable online text and complete audio narration. Sentences are highlighted as they are being read...
  • Homepage for TumbleBook Library
    Collection of online books created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books from major children's book publishers and designed to develop a love of reading in children. The books can be read by parents to their children or read by a child. Games, quizzes and other activities are included to help develop reading skills. TumbleBookLibrary can be used in English, French and Spanish.
  • Homepage for TumbleBookCloud Jr.
    Tumble Book Cloud Junior includes over 600 titles, including ebooks, read-along chapter books, graphic novels, educational videos from National Geographic, and audiobooks. This collection is designed for readers in grades 3 - 6.