Regular hours resumed Sept. 7, 2021

15/10/2021

Ottawa Public Library has returned to regular pre-pandemic hours at most branches as of September 7, 2021 — including Sunday hours at 10 branches and InfoService. Hours are posted at branch entrances and on the Hours and location page of the OPL website.   

 

Extended curbside service at Alta Vista branch October 16 from 10 am to 5 pm

15/10/2021

The Alta Vista branch will extend curbside services at the rear door and parking lot on Saturday October 16, 2021 from 10 am to 5 pm .The branch will resume regular service on Monday, October 18 at 10 am.  .  

Overdrive: Issues with older Apple devices or browsers

12/10/2021

Recent changes by Overdrive and Libby have impacted compatibility with older versions of Apple's mobile and desktop operating systems. Those who use older Apple devices (Mac computers running lower than macOS 10.12.1 and iPhones/iPads running iOS 9) may have trouble using the OverDrive desktop or mobile apps, while Libby is no longer supported on iPhones and iPads running iOS 9.

Notice: Carlingwood Branch

14/10/2021

The elevator at Carlingwood branch is currently out of service. 

Closure: Centennial Branch

15/10/2021

Centennial Branch will be open from  2 pm  to 5 pm only Saturday October 16,  due to a planned Hydro Ottawa Power outage.

 

You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Online Resources

  • Homepage for Canadian Encyclopedia
    This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos. Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada,...
  • Homepage for Canadian Major Dailies
    This full-text database includes the complete available electronic backfiles for major national and regional newspapers from 1985 to current, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Content is updated daily. Among the titles are The Globe and...
    Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here.
    -- Login to Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest
    -- Click on Publications located on the top bar of the page
    -- Type Globe and Mail in the search box
    -- Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail (Jan. 1, 2020 – present)
    -- Browse specific issues
  • Homepage of Early Canadiana Online
    This bilingual online resource offers historical content about Canada from the first European settlers to the early 20th century. This includes digitized books, magazines and government documents and spans 21 languages.
  • The Hilltimes.com – Canada’s political and government news service Customers can access PDF versions of Ottawa's own twice-weekly newspaper, as well as previous, achieved issues back to 2004, or download and print a copy. They can also search articles dating...
  • Homepage for iPolitics
    iPolitics is Canada’s only digital-native news service covering politics, policy and the business of government. Learn how politicians make decisions that affect your life and our country. From daily news to deep analysis - we’ve got you covered.
    This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
  • Homepage for Ottawa Citizen database
    This digitized full-images archives of the Ottawa Citizen provides genealogists, researchers and general public with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
  • Homepage for ReferenceCanada
    A directory of 2.1 million Canadian company profiles compiled from telephone directories, annual reports, government data, chamber of commerce information, business magazines, newspapers, specialty directories, and postal services information. Enables entrepreneurs, job-hunters, and consumers to find businesses in any industry...