You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Online Resources

  • Homepage for CHOIX Média
    Riche de quelque 800 000 références, ChoixMédia recense chaque année de 40 000 titres en langue française, dans tous les domaines et pour tous les publics, sur de multiples supports (livres, DVD, disques compacts, logiciels, etc). ChoixMédia se démarque par...
  • Homepage for Curio.ca
    Curio.ca offers access to thousands of commercial-free educational video and audio streams from CBC and Radio-Canada. Categories include Canadian history, health, business, children's programming, Indigenous studies and many others.

    If you would like to create playlists and use other personalized features of Curio.ca, you'll need to create an account by using access code: LWB9-RCBE

  • Homepage of Encyclopædia Universalis
    Encyclopédie généraliste française pour adultes.

     

  • Homepage of Encyclopædia Universalis Junior
    Encyclopédie en ligne entièrement en français spécialement conçue pour les enfants et pour les jeunes adolescents.
  • Homepage of Encyclopédie Découverte
    Articles include maps, photos, illustrations, diagrams, audio clips, statistics, links to related information and citation information. Icons also direct users to a dictionary, photo gallery, list of activities and web links. Subject areas include people, plants and animals, places, history...

     

  • Homepage for Eureka.cc
    The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC...
  • Homepage of Généology Québec
    Provides access to over 42,000,000 images and files from the origins of New France to today, drawn from the search tools of the Drouin Genealogical Institute. Includes baptism and death certificates (1621-1849), the Fond Drouin registries from 1621 to 1967,...
  • Homepage for Hoopla
    This digital media service provides customers access to motion picture films, television shows and complete music albums. There are more than 230,000 titles in this collection, which includes current and past hits, as well as classics. There is a variety of genres to choose from, with something for all ages.

    OPL has extended your Hoopla play credit from 4 to 6 per month. It is a special gift for you to celebrate October Library month. Let's be connected, inspired and entertained together every day!

    You can stream or temporarily download up to 6 titles per month per card from now on.

    By popular request, hoopla is now available on Android Auto! Listen to music more safely and easily using your vehicle's in-dash display.

  • Homepage for Kanopy
    Kanopy offers a large collection of high quality films and documentaries from art-house classics to world cinema, all available to play on your PC, phone, tablet and digital media player. You can stream up to 4 films per month. At...
    • You can watch up to 4 films per month per card.
    • You can check out 1 series from The Great Courses per month per card with 30 days access
    • Unlimited plays for any video in Kanopy Kids and any trailer.
  • Homepage of NFB - Campus
    NFB Campus streams almost 1,500 more films than the free NFB site. (Those 1,500 extra films are only available for streaming in library through OPL NFB Campus subscription; The other 4,500 films are available free from NFB site www.nfb.ca )...
  • Homepage of PRDH
    Database containing a directory of civil status records (baptisms, marriages and burials) in Quebec (1621-1799), a genealogical dictionary of families (1621-1765) and a directory of couples and descendants.
  • Homepage for TumbleBook Library
    Collection of online books created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books from major children's book publishers and designed to develop a love of reading in children. The books can be read by parents to their children or read by a child. Games, quizzes and other activities are included to help develop reading skills. TumbleBookLibrary can be used in English, French and Spanish.