Website Maintenance: Saturday, July 31

29/07/2021

We will be performing maintenance to our systems. Access to your OPL account and search functions will be unavailable from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm Saturday, July 31. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Colonel By Day: August 2

29/07/2021

All Ottawa Public Library branches will be closed on Monday, August 2. Virtual services and loans can be accessed on our website. 

Temporary closure: Alta Vista

23/07/2021

Due to upgrades to the front entrance, the Alta Vista branch will be closed from July 26 to August 8. There will be no returns or holds pick-up during that time. Alta Vista branch will reopen August 9 at 10 am.   

Step 3: More services inside most open branches

29/07/2021

Browsing, public computers, newspapers and magazines are available inside most of our 31 open branches, with capacity limits for two-metre distancing. Up to 200 items can also be put on hold.

Starting July 26:

Mask-wearing remains mandatory inside, and outside in line. For more details, go to Current Branch Services.

You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Online Resources

  • Homepage of A-Z list -Full Text Finder
    Want to know which database includes your favourite magazines and newspapers? Our A-Z list-Full Text Finder makes it easy to search for specific magazines and newspapers.
  • Homepage for Canadian Reference Centre
    Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more. It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.
  • Homepage for Consumer Reports
    ConsumerReports.org provides unbiased ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice from expert Consumer Reports’ testers for thousands of products and services such as cars, electronics, appliances, and more. Frequently updated articles, blogs and video content allow consumers to find the...
    For the optimal experience of using Consumer Reports, we recommend you use Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, Safari or Firefox. Since CR has ended its support for IE in favor of Microsoft Edge.
  • Homepage for Eureka.cc
    The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC...
  • Homepage for Flipster
    Access today's edition of popular magazine titles including Hello! Canada, Maclean's, Scientific American, Time, People and others.
    If you are experiencing difficulty accessing magazines, please check "Tips on how to access magazines from Flipster" under our Help Guide
    Four new eMagazines had be added to the Flipster platform. They are:
    Canadian House & Home
    Bloomberg Businessweek
    The Atlantic
    Azure
    Teen Black Girls Magazine and Black Girls Magazine will be available on June 1, 2021
    New issues of Ebony and Family circle are no longer available from Flipster platform.
  • Homepage of Academic OneFile
    Nearly 15,000 journals with full-text and indexed articles on a wide range of academic subjects with strengths in the physical sciences, technology, social sciences, the arts, business, literature and more. A wide range of limiters provide options for peer-reviewed, full-text...
    Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here:
     Login to Gale Academic Onefile by using your library account
     Click on Advanced Search and under SEARCH OPTIONS, click Publication Search
     Type Globe and Mail in the search box
     Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail
     Select different years and browse specific issues
  • Homepage for iPolitics
    iPolitics is Canada’s only digital-native news service covering politics, policy and the business of government. Learn how politicians make decisions that affect your life and our country. From daily news to deep analysis - we’ve got you covered.
    This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
  • Homepage for Maclean's
    Canada's national current affairs magazine. Coverage includes news, social issues, politics, business, sports, health, education, arts and entertainment.
  • Homepage for Overdrive magazines
    A package of over 3,000 popular titles (including The Economist, Canadian Living, National Geographic, The New Yorker, and many more) with varieties of languages and up to three years of back issues are now available for unlimited simultaneous access with...
    For PC & Mac computer
    Libbyapp.com offers all the same great features as the app except the ability to download loans for offline use. You'll still be able to read and listen to your loans as long as you're connected to the internet.
    For Android & iOS device
    You can access titles offline through the Libby app on an Android or iOS device if you'd like