Website Maintenance: Saturday, July 31

29/07/2021

We will be performing maintenance to our systems. Access to your OPL account and search functions will be unavailable from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm Saturday, July 31. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Colonel By Day: August 2

29/07/2021

All Ottawa Public Library branches will be closed on Monday, August 2. Virtual services and loans can be accessed on our website. 

Temporary closure: Alta Vista

23/07/2021

Due to upgrades to the front entrance, the Alta Vista branch will be closed from July 26 to August 8. There will be no returns or holds pick-up during that time. Alta Vista branch will reopen August 9 at 10 am.   

Step 3: More services inside most open branches

29/07/2021

Browsing, public computers, newspapers and magazines are available inside most of our 31 open branches, with capacity limits for two-metre distancing. Up to 200 items can also be put on hold.

Starting July 26:

Mask-wearing remains mandatory inside, and outside in line. For more details, go to Current Branch Services.

You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Online Resources

  • Homepage for Canadian Major Dailies
    This full-text database includes the complete available electronic backfiles for major national and regional newspapers from 1985 to current, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Content is updated daily. Among the titles are The Globe and...
    Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here.
    -- Login to Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest
    -- Click on Publications located on the top bar of the page
    -- Type Globe and Mail in the search box
    -- Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail (Jan. 1, 2020 – present)
    -- Browse specific issues
  • The Hilltimes.com – Canada’s political and government news service Customers can access PDF versions of Ottawa's own twice-weekly newspaper, as well as previous, achieved issues back to 2004, or download and print a copy. They can also search articles dating...
  • Homepage for iPolitics
    iPolitics is Canada’s only digital-native news service covering politics, policy and the business of government. Learn how politicians make decisions that affect your life and our country. From daily news to deep analysis - we’ve got you covered.
    This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
  • Homepage for Ottawa Citizen database
    This digitized full-images archives of the Ottawa Citizen provides genealogists, researchers and general public with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. This will allow Ottawans to digitally travel back through...