Regular hours resume on September 7 2021


Ottawa Public Library will return to regular pre-pandemic hours at most branches starting Tuesday, September 7, 2021 — including Sunday hours at 10 branches and InfoService as of Sunday, September 12.  

Hours are posted at branch entrances and on the Hours and location page of the OPL website.   

Fitzroy Harbour and Vernon branches are reopening after being closed since the beginning of the pandemic in March 2020.  

Notice - Carlingwood branch


The elevator at the Carlingwood branch is currently unavailable.

Hunt Club-Riverside Park Community Centre kiosk out of service


The kiosk machine dispensing adult books at the Hunt Club-Riverside Park Community Centre is currently unavailable.

Rideau branch-Elevator out of service


The elevator at Rideau is currently out of service for maintenance and repairs. Service will be restored on Monday, September 27th.

You are here

James Bartleman Archives and Library Materials Centre

100 Tallwood Dr.

Ottawa  K2G 4R7

The James Bartleman Archives and Library Materials Centre opened on Monday, June 27, 2011. The City of Ottawa Archives and the Ottawa Public Library, two key city institutions, were brought together in this 92,000-square-foot building.

  • The area designated for OPL is not accessible to the public. However, the City of Ottawa Archives Reference Room is open to the public. Take virtual tour of the archives.
  • The Collection Management and Materials Delivery teams receive new materials and ship them out through the Library system, to the tune of 70 tonnes per week.
  • It’s the only Library location certified as Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED), and achieved Gold Status. The LEED rating system reflects the level of green building design, construction, operations and maintenance solutions.
  • This facility was made possible with a $20 million dollar contribution from the Provincial Government’s Municipal Infrastructure Investment.
  • A commissioned piece of art titled Archive by Don Maynard is tethered to the ground by ropes and boulders at the front of the building. This sculpture consists of a stainless steel house floating 6 meters above the plaza.
  • This building has received these honours: 
  • The Ottawa Urban Design Award of Merit in the Public Places and Civic Spaces category. The project team was honoured in October 2011:
    • Wendy Brawley and Gerry Shoalts, Barry J. Hobin & Associates Architects Inc. in association with Shoalts and Zaback Architects Ltd.
    • Don Maynard, Artist
    • Richard Cunliffe, Cunliffe & Associates
    • Francis Bann and Chris Myres, Goodkey Weedmark & Associates
    • Ron Cebryk, Novatech Engineering
    • Jerry Corush, Corush Sunderland Wright Ltd.
    • Chris Wanczycki, City of Ottawa
  • The Ontario Association of Architects Award for Design Excellence, received by Shoalts and Zaback  Architects Ltd. And Barry J. Hobin and Associates Architects Inc. in May 2012