Regular hours resumed Sept. 7, 2021

15/10/2021

Ottawa Public Library has returned to regular pre-pandemic hours at most branches as of September 7, 2021 — including Sunday hours at 10 branches and InfoService. Hours are posted at branch entrances and on the Hours and location page of the OPL website.   

 

Carp Branch

18/10/2021

Carp branch will be closed on Tuesday, October 26, 2021 for operational use by the City of Ottawa. Regular service will resume Wednesday,  October 27, 2021 at 10 am. 

Overdrive: Issues with older Apple devices or browsers

12/10/2021

Recent changes by Overdrive and Libby have impacted compatibility with older versions of Apple's mobile and desktop operating systems. Those who use older Apple devices (Mac computers running lower than macOS 10.12.1 and iPhones/iPads running iOS 9) may have trouble using the OverDrive desktop or mobile apps, while Libby is no longer supported on iPhones and iPads running iOS 9.

Carlingwood branch: Elevator out of service

18/10/2021

The elevator at Carlingwood branch is currently out of service. 

Alta Vista branch: Reopening October 22

21/10/2021

Alta Vista branch will return to regular service and hours on Friday, October 22, 2021.

You are here

Tech Café: Making Technology Work For You When Things Are Hard To Hear

hands working at a laptop computer

Participants will learn how to enable subtitles, what noise cancelling technology is, and how to replace audio cues with visual ones. There will also be discussion of pairing assistive devices (hearing aides) to other devices.

Presented by the Ottawa Public Library in partnership with Connected Canadians.

Presented in English; English or French questions

Laissez la technologie travailler pour vous lorsque les choses sont difficiles à entendre - les participants apprendront comment activer les sous-titres, ce qu'est la technologie de suppression du bruit et comment remplacer les signaux audio par des signaux visuels. Il y aura également une discussion sur le jumelage d'appareils fonctionnels (aides auditives) à d'autres appareils.

Offert par la Bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa en partenariat avec Canadiens branchés.

Présenté en anglais; capacité bilingue pour les questions et la discussion.

Retour aux heures normales le 7 septembre

15/10/2021

La Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa a repris ses heures d'ouverture d’avant la pandémie dans la majorité des succursales depuis le 7 septembre 2021, y inclus les heures d’ouverture le dimanche à dix succursales et à InfoService. Les horaires sont affichés à l’entrée des succursales et sur horaires et emplacements dans le site web de la BPO. 

 

Succursale Carp

18/10/2021

La succursale Carp sera fermée le mardi 26 octobre 2021 pour usage opérationnel de la Ville d’Ottawa. Le service régulier reprendra le mercredi 27 octobre à 10 h. 

Overdrive : Problèmes avec les anciens appareils et navigateurs Apple

12/10/2021

Des récentes modifications apportées par Overdrive et Libby ont eu un impact sur leur compatibilité avec les anciennes versions des systèmes d'exploitation mobiles et bureautiques. Les personnes qui utilisent des appareils Apple plus anciens (ordinateurs Mac qui exécutent macOS 10.12.1 et iPhones/iPads qui exécutent iOS 9) peuvent avoir des difficultés avec les applications mobiles et bureautiques d'OverDrive, tandis que Libby ne permet plus les iPhones et iPads qui exécutent iOS 9 (ces liens ne sont disponibles qu'en anglais).

Succursale Carlingwood

18/10/2021

L'ascenseur de la succursale Carlingwood est actuellement hors service.

Succursale Alta Vista : Réouverture  le 22 octobre

21/10/2021

 La succursale Alta Vista retournera à son service régulier le vendredi 22 octobre 2021.

 

You are here

Tech Café: Making Technology Work For You When Things Are Hard To Hear

hands working at a laptop computer

Participants will learn how to enable subtitles, what noise cancelling technology is, and how to replace audio cues with visual ones. There will also be discussion of pairing assistive devices (hearing aides) to other devices.

Presented by the Ottawa Public Library in partnership with Connected Canadians.

Presented in English; English or French questions

Laissez la technologie travailler pour vous lorsque les choses sont difficiles à entendre - les participants apprendront comment activer les sous-titres, ce qu'est la technologie de suppression du bruit et comment remplacer les signaux audio par des signaux visuels. Il y aura également une discussion sur le jumelage d'appareils fonctionnels (aides auditives) à d'autres appareils.

Offert par la Bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa en partenariat avec Canadiens branchés.

Présenté en anglais; capacité bilingue pour les questions et la discussion.